source: https://www.lionsroar.com/


Dharma, the universal law of nature which is applicable to all is basically a spiritual practice and right conduct of an individual in this society. It is derived from the Sanskrit word “dhr” which means root to keep everything in order and in the proper place in this universe.

Dharma is basically given by Lord Krishna in the 4th chapter of the holy book Bhagavad Gita. It is denoted in the 7th and 8th verses. It is worshiping God, any religion, or any practice without any ulterior motive and basically on the individual belief. Dharma is basically a moral law of individual conduct which helps the individual to achieve the 4 ends of life. It is a universal concept and is applicable to all conduct of humans practicing any religion or belonging to any class, caste, or of any sex, color, or creed. It is the moral order of the universe that gives a code of living life and lays down principles of religion and duties of the individual in ordinary life.


It is the backbone of the nation and only law which has come from ancient India and is still applied by all in this universe. Many spiritual leaders lay down the meaning of Dharma. It is a very religious and spiritual concept which prescribes different meaning of dharma but all that sums up to Right Conduct of An Individual in This Society. Dharma is basically a universal law that keeps everything in order and helps to maintain peace and gives better living to the people in this universe by keeping their mental peace stable. Everyone believes in dharma in order to have a peaceful, truthful, nonviolence, and generous life in this universe.

By following Dharma an individual can achieve liberation from the cycle of death and rebirth. An individual duty depends on their age, gender and then he is filled with more responsibilities when they grow up. Dharma is a path for the right conduct and to maintain social and spiritual order in this universe.

It denotes the exact number of cycles of existence for example when an individual dies his or her soul is transferred into another being and he again begins to live the cycle of life.


Dharma is a central concept that is shared by all religions like Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, etc. In Hinduism dharma is basically a moral order which is governed by the universe and it regulates the code of living. It consists of honesty, nonviolence, and generosity among all. It also lays down the fundamental principles of law, religion, and prescribes the duty of human beings which governs their reality. In Jainism dharma is basically an allowance to move in this life and society through an eternal substance. In Buddhism, dharma is basically a universal truth that is given by the Lord Buddha. It is basically composed of 3 gems the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha known as Triratna. The elements are interrelated and they make a pragmatic world.


Dharma along with Artha, Kama, and Moksha comes under the Purusharthas which literally means the purpose of human beings in this universe. Purushartha is the composition of Sanskrit word Purusha and Artha. It is basically the goal of human beings in the cycle of life. It includes


    It is the universal order of law that governs all the individuals of the universe. It prescribes the right conduct of living and maintains social order. Every individual belief in the dharma as it the backbone of the nation which tends to keep all individual truthful, nonviolent, generous, and shows them the right path to life. It even influences the behavior of the individual and gives them the right virtues in order to maintain spiritual beliefs also. It is the manner that governs the duty of the individual and teaches them cooperation with other human beings in this society.

    Artha signifies the means of life with the help of the acquisition of wealth. It is a materialistic satisfaction through the work of an individual in his/her life. It helps to make a living through the wealth and path of the career an individual chooses in their life. Artha is an important aim in this life of human beings in order to achieve better living through their constructive works
  • KAMA

    It denotes the satisfaction and pleasure in the life of an individual by their actions and desires. It is one major aspect of the spiritual life of an individual and is considered a healthy goal in their lives. The Kama basically means the desire of the wishes of the individual. It is the pleasure of humans in the form of love, affection, wishes, and needs, with or without sexual pleasures.

    It is basically the liberation of an individual after achieving Dharma, Artha, and the Kama. It is basically the study of meditation and individual salvation from the right conduct, means, and desires of life. Moksha can be denoted as a freedom from the cycle of rebirth and death where the 4 Ends of Life are achieved.


Dharma basically is prevalent in all aspects of the life of an individual which gives them the right path of life. When an individual does anything in life it has 2 sides like a coin has and if it does not seem right to them they won’t exercise that thing. Even if an individual does wrong conduct in his/her view they seem to violate their dharma according to their conduct in life. Dharma is practiced by all and is present in every sphere of life of an individual starting from its birth and ending to their death. A person’s dharma not only affected his/her life solely but also affects society by his/her conduct in the universe. Dharma basically tells an individual what to do and what in order to maintain reality, noninjury, and generosity in the society.

Hence, Dharma is the backbone of the nation as it prescribes the manner of life and the right path to lead a life that is governed by the actions of the individual and is a moral order which is prevalent in the whole universe and is followed by all the human beings in the society.


Snigdha Singhi Snigdha Singhi | Amity Law School, Noida


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here